Home » News » Uganda politics » Museveni Awarded For Democratic Governance In Uganda
museveni is recognised in Africa
President Museveni Kaguta

Museveni Awarded For Democratic Governance In Uganda

President Museveni has been recognised for being democratic, peace loving and liberating Uganda from tyranny. The recognition comes with the African Liberation Award.

Check also: Am Going To Build A Powerful Land, Air And Marine Force-President

The award was conferred by the African Liberation Award Committee that met in October 2017 in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania.

According to the award committee, led by Dr George Nangale, President Museveni has recognised and accepted democratic governance in Uganda by accenting multi-partism and private candidature, the reality of which could not be dreamt of in the 70s and 80s.

Among other factors that were looked at in awarding Museveni include; His effective contribution to the liberation of Uganda in the 1970s and 1980s from tyranny regime thus resulting into political stability in Uganda; Under his leadership, Uganda has played a leading exemplary role in peace keeping initiatives in Somalia, Central African Republic, Congo and Burundi. Uganda has deployed more soldiers than any other African State for peace keeping in Somalia; His zealous and consistent positive commitment to the cause of integration and the East African Community since 1993 to date; his lifetime belief and support to Pan Africanism Internationally.

“The African Liberation Award Committee that met in October 2017 in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania, unanimously voted for President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni as winner of the 2017 Africa Liberation Prize,” Dr. George Nangale said.

The prize has previously been conferred on Mwalimu Julius Nyerere and Dr. Kenneth Kaunda both in 2014.

According to Dr. Nangale the Africa Liberation Prize is conferred by the African Liberation Award Committee of which, given its rules and points of reference do chose the winner as the attributes are met satisfactorily. The committee is run on a voluntary basis.

“This award is for Africa, it is a recognised award on the continent. It is set to recognise contributions and initiatives towards African Liberation within and outside Africa. Award winners include African statesmen, Liberation struggle veterans, peacekeepers and other individuals. This is a memorable mark for future generations to emulate,” he said.

In May 1963, 32 independent African states met in Addis Ababa, founded the Organisation of African Unity (OAU), and established the Liberation Committee of the new organisation, charging it with the duty of coordinating the liberation struggle in those parts of Africa still under colonial rule.

The OAU Liberation Committee was hosted in Dar es Salaam by the government of Tanzania, at the invitation of the founding President, Mwalimu Julius Nyerere. The 2017 Africa Liberation Prize will be conferred on President Museveni at a date to be communicated.

Source: nile post

Check also;

This is not a Paywall, but Newslex Point's journalism consumes a lot of time, hard-work and money. That's why we're kindly requesting you to support us in anyway they can, for as little as $1 or more, you can support us .

Please use the button below to contribute to Newslex Point, Inc. using a credit card or via PayPal.

Donate Button with Credit Cards




About Kyeyune Andrew Jonathan


Check Also

Nobert Mao Tells His Tale On His Last Encounter With Fallen Speaker Oulanyah

I’m The Oasis And Kyagulanyi Is The Desert – Nobert Mao

The Minister of Justice and Constitutional Affairs, Hon Nobert Mao is not ready to tolerate ...