Home » News » Uganda politics » Paul Kagame Swears In
Kagame swears In
Paul Kagame is swearing Today

Paul Kagame Swears In

President Yoweri Museveni is in the Rwandan Capital Kigali to attend the inaugural ceremony of President kagame as he swears in for his third term in office.

Check also: Rwanda To Open Recycling Plant For Old Phones And Computers By End of the Month

President Museveni was received at the Kigali international Airport by the Foreign Affairs Minister Hon. Sam Kahamba Kuteesa, the Acting Ugandan High Commissioner to Rwanda Ann Katusiime, Brig Nyamunyanisa, among others.

Rwanda held presidential elections on August 4th 2017 that saw the incumbent President Paul Kagame sweeping the polls to secure an overwhelming 7-year, third term in office.

Museveni, who is also the Chairperson of the East African Community joined other Heads of State and dignitaries from the continent and around the world attending the ceremony at Amahoro National Stadium in Kigali.

The Ugandan President, according to those in attendance, received the loudest applause upon arrival at the stadium.

President-elect Paul Kagame polled 98.7% of the vote against main opposition party leader Frank Habineza and independent candidate Philippe Mpayimana.

According to the Rwandan Constitution, the President-elect takes oath of office within thirty days after the final results of the election have been officially released.

Several heads of states and governments have already arrived for the ceremony including newly elected President of Kenya, Uhuru Kenyata, President of South Sudan Salva Kiir, that of Namibia Hage Geingob, President of Gabon Ali Bongo Ondimba, Acting President of the federal Republic of Nigeria, President of the Republic of Niger, Faustin Archange Touadera of the Central African Republic, Brahim Ghali of the Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic, Ismail Omar Guelleh of Djibouti, Mahamadou Issoufou of Niger, Djibouti President Ismail Omar Guelleh, President of Niger, President Edgar Lungu of Zambia, Macky Sall of Senegal, Sasou Nguesso of the Republic of Congo and Hage Gottfried Geingob of Namibia. Others include the Chairperson of the African Union Commission, Moussa Faki Mahamat and former Botswana President Festus Mogae, former Tanzania President Benjamin Mkapa.

Source: chimpreports

Check also;

This is not a Paywall, but Newslex Point's journalism consumes a lot of time, hard-work and money. That's why we're kindly requesting our readers to support us in anyway they can, for as little as $1 or more, you can support us .

Please use the button below to contribute to Newslex Point, Inc. using a credit card or via PayPal.

Donate Button with Credit Cards




About nasasira benjamin

Posted by benjamin, An associate Author & Editor at newslexpoint, he loves writing especially articles in entertainment and lifestyle aswell as editing.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Check Also

Ashburg Katto Claims Abtex, Eddie Mutwe, Nubian Are Soon Joining NRM

Bajjo, Eddie Mutwe, Nubian Li Are Soon Joining NRM – Ashburg Katto Reveals

The former Ghetto Tv motivational speaker and a long term Facebook blogger Ashburg Katto is ...